Last Violin Performance

Kida had her last orchestra performance earlier this week.  She, and the rest of the group, really improved since their first performance.

We (Kylie and I…husband had a schedule conflict) sat in a spot where I thought would work great for taking photos and videos.  We were in the second row from the front sitting just to the left from middle.  The front row was a half row that ended to our right (with the last seat in front of the seat Kylie was sitting in) which allowed us full view of the stage from an angle.  When Kida came out and took her seat on the stage, we realized that we would not be able to see her at all because there were two violinists to the right of her, blocking her from our view, but by this time the auditorium had already filled up.  To add to that, two big and tall guys sat just to the right of us in the front row, blocking our view.  Kylie was originally sitting right behind them but I switched seats with her so she could see and ended up recording with my camera between the two guys’ shoulders.

Here is a video of one of the songs they played.

Kida has been thinking about not taking violin this fall.  She says it’s too boring.  I reminded her of how excited she got when husband and I finally gave in and allowed her to switch from her guitar to violin.  And, I persuaded her to stick to it but I don’t know if that was the right thing to do.  I’m wondering now if I should have not given her an option and just told her she had to continue.  Frustrating.

Leave a Reply

